The Essential Phone Part #3

Have you heard about the Essential phone? I’ve written a great deal about it in the past and I don’t plan to stop anytime soon. As someone who writes about technology, I feel compelled to cover devices with vision. When I say vision, I mean the strategy of the people who are responsible for creating that device. In Essential, I see a company that’s doing things the right way and for the right reasons. I would gladly heap this praise on any deserving company, but for some reason I continue to stick on Essential.

The signature phone from Essential is getting a bad rap. Rather than taking the time to get to know the device, reviewers are deciding to cast it aside as nothing more than a noteworthy attempt from a scrappy upstart. Every company started out at the back of the pack. Some of them even attempted to create a pack that had not yet been thrust into existence. I feel that it’s remarkable that we want to deal with phones from the same few companies for the rest of eternity. It doesn’t matter that the juggernauts make good products. They’re not going to make them great unless they have a competitor licking at their heels.

All phones started out as the rough draft of an idea that someone thought had a lot of potential. Whether or not that potential was realized is something else entirely. I’m not saying that every product on the market should require us to go out of our way to give it the benefit of the doubt. What I am saying is that there are worse phones than the Essential phone on the market. You can’t rule out the Essential phone unless you rule out the others first. It’s simple.

As time goes on, products have a tendency to get better. Their manufacturers improve their processes and start coming up with ways to push everything forward. Before you know it, you’re holding a phone that exceeds all your expectations. You wouldn’t have gotten to that point if you had decided to blow all the others that came before it off. Each product has a life cycle and during that life cycle there’s a great deal of evolution. This evolution only happens when the manufacturer can rest easy knowing that the public has faith in their products.

I don’t know the first thing about sales figures, let alone how many units Essential is moving. I hope that their sales numbers are high because I want to see what’s coming on one, two, three, or however many years it takes before I know that they’re here to stay. We need more companies that want to make the best products, not more juggernauts that will churn out whatever they want, knowing full well that their adoring public will lap it up like it’s nothing. I’m well aware that my existence is essential to the people who make my phone. I just want to know that it’s true the other way around too.

Leave a Reply

