Misadventures in Hot Dog Consumption 

I love hot dogs. I don’t care what’s in them. I just love them. They have to be done right or else they’re nothing more than a supporting actor to the leading dynamo known as hamburgers. I have found some places that succeed in this regard while others produce a hot dog that’s so insufficient that it might as well be served by the dozen. The area I live in is not loaded with a large amount of quality eating establishments. I know I need to venture outside of my immediate area to find other contenders. I will probably do that at some point. First, I need to find out what’s out there.

One thing that’s always surprised me is the ineptitude of the fast food juggernauts to produce a decent hot dog. McDonald’s has tried it a few times with less than impressive results. Ray Kroc, the man who’s commonly referred to as the founder of McDonald’s even though he was just the guy who bought the company from the actual founders, the McDonald brothers, prevented McDonald’s from serving hot dogs due to the unpredictability of their ingredients. Burger King has one on their menu right now. I don’t trust it.

Wienerschnitzel has a location right down the street from my house. I went there once and never will again. Their hot dogs are a lifeless waste of the soggy buns they’re put in. Freddy’s, a joint that recently came into my area from parts unknown, has hot dogs but they’re small. I have to buy a burger to get a complete meal out of the arrangement. I love Freddy’s and would recommend them to anyone who has them in their town. They need to work on beefing up their hot dogs if they want to be a contender.

I get that I could make hot dogs at home. Where’s the fun in that though? I make hot dogs one way and they’re not that impressive. I could make those hot dogs every day of the week for very little money. That’s not fun. I want a hot dog that’s interesting. A hot dog that’s made using recipes and techniques perfected by passionate people over the course of years. I want a hot dog that I think about when I’m no longer in the place from which I’ve ordered it. I’ve found that dog and am going to write about it next.

Leave a Reply

