Praying for an Eggo (@eggo, @kelloggsus) – Glines Over Breakfast #2

What does a guy have to do to get an Eggo hookup? I could write to them on Twitter, but who knows where the person who responds to their tweets winds up on the corporate food chain. I’ve dealt with enough social media people to tell you that they’re customer service representatives in a different venue. All they can do is acknowledge you if you praise them or forward your concerns to the person who’s able to address them. It’s not their fault. They have a job to do and many of them do it to the best of their abilities.

Eggo waffles are part of the mythological juggernaut Kellogg’s. I will be talking about many of their products in the future. They are such an integral part of breakfast that it would be irresponsible of me to discuss breakfast and not mention their name. I have attempted to find someone over at Kellogg’s who’s willing to talk to me. No such luck. I could write to their generic contact form, but that’s a waste of time. Thousands of people likely use that form daily, leaving Kellogg’s with a pile of queries that will go unanswered.

I want to get the ear of a living breathing person working over at Kellogg’s. Someone who can take my request and turn it into action. There was a time when doing such a thing wasn’t such a chore. You could write to a company and someone would get back to you with an actual response. They wouldn’t dig a canned reply off of their pile of scripts in the hopes that you would blindly keep quiet. They would actually take the time to respond to your query in a way that would ensure that you’re satisfied.

I’m not saying that Kellogg’s has dropped the ball in any way here. I’m sure that they will be very receptive to me when I make contact with them. I just need to find the right person to contact. In a world of nearly identical job titles, it’s challenging to track down the individual who will answer your questions. You could find someone who seems like they’re in the right department only to find out that they do something completely different from what their job title signifies. Persistence is key and persistent is what I will be.

 

Nothing will keep me from my Eggo waffles. If you told me that there was a case of Eggo waffles on the other end of a brick wall, I would do my best Hulk impression and try to break through to get to it. I have tried almost every generic brand of frozen waffles I’ve been able to get my hands on. Some of them are alright while others are forgettable. None of them hold a candle to Eggo waffles. I fully admit that I might be susceptible to choosing Eggo waffls just because they’re a name brand. I don’t mind. In all reality, I’m sure that if their waffles didn’t taste the best, I would pass them over for waffles from another brand.

Leave a Reply

