All About Chocolate

Here are Some of the Chocolates I’ve Reviewed
Antidote
Clara Cookies
Diana’s
Jean Pierre’s Fine Chocolate and Nuts
Lang’s Chocolates
Santosha Chocolate
Tierra Nueva – Coffee Thins
Waggoner’s Chocolates

I had an epiphany recently and it made me want to open up a new section of The Coffee Encyclopedia. The Bean Box sent me a few chocolates in a package and Tierra Nueva included several packages in another shipment. A forthcoming review of Tierra Nueva will be the first entry in this series. Several more reviews will come after that and this section will profile the best of the best in the chocolate industry. I don’t believe that anything gets accomplished when a writer focuses on an industry’s most prominent entities. This approach is akin to pricing the fruit at the bottom of a tree just because it’s the easiest to access.

You have to be willing to exert some extra effort to find the diamonds in the rough. Every chocolate maker starts from the bottom. They don’t become as big as Hershey’s overnight. Giving the little guys the cold shoulder could mean depriving the world of the next chocolate juggernaut. I’ve taken this approach on the coffee side of things and I plan to do that here. If it involves chocolate, you better believe I’m going to talk about it. As far as the connection between coffee and chocolate, that explanation is a bit more personal.

I don’t know about you, but whenever I’m drinking coffee, I have the feeling I need something sweet. As a big guy, people often think that I have the biggest sweet tooth in the world. The exact opposite is the truth. I actually have an aversion to sugar and am unable to eat it in large quantities without getting the strangest feeling in my throat like the sugar is collecting back there. I used to have a huge sugar problem and I kicked the habit for the longest time. This has resulted in a strange, conflicted relationship between me and the sweet beast.

I think my need to get sugar out of my life came from the uninteresting options I had available to me. This is more or less the same reason I started this blog four years ago. I got bored with what I had in front of me. I thought I would spend the rest of my life drinking the same two or three types of coffee. That all changed when I started writing about coffee and contacting the people who have devoted their lives to making great beans and brews. On the coffee side, it has been a wonderful journey so far and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Leave a Reply

