Either it’s Great or it’s Scrapped

Sometimes I start writing something and, if I don’t get it done right then and there, I never finish it. I don’t do well with drafts. I understand the people who are able to stitch together a piece and like the finished product. I’m not one of those people. Either I get it done when I start writing it or it will remain a draft forever. 

Writing for me is all about energy and rhythm. I get going on a topic and if I run out of steam, I’m done with that topic. I never force anything. I read articles all the time where it seems like the writer had nothing, but they couldn’t admit it and change topic. I never want to write anything like that. 

I have numerous articles online railing against no nothing writers polluting the well with their nonsense. If I came out with the same variety of garbage, I would be no better than them. Integrity is in short supply in the writing world. The last thing I would want to do is be another scribe who has cashed in their dignity in return for an audience.

I used to struggle a lot with wanting to alter my writing to make it more universal. I won’t lie and say that talking to as many people as I can is something I would hate. At the same time, I have to deal with myself at the end of the day. If I don’t like what I see, any progress I’ve made or success I’ve had will have been in vain. Either what I’m doing now will get an audience or it won’t. All I know is, regardless of what happens, I am happy with what I’m doing.

I never judge my output by the number of posts I’ve written. I judge it by the quality of my content. I will not release a piece of content unless I’m happy with it. Arbitrary deadlines lead to rushed, substandard content. While I might not be the best writer in the world, it would be foolish to call my content anything other than quality. 

You might disagree with my approach sometimes. I get that. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. However, I am doing things in the way I feel best. I support any creator who has that mindset. I feel like there’s no better way to do things.

Leave a Reply

