Beans and Brews: Let’s Do It Again

Awhile back I reviewed Beans and Brews, a chain of coffee shops located here in Utah. I like them. Their Revolver drink is tremendous. Six shots of espresso with any flavor you want can’t be beat. The quality of service at their Ogden location left a lot to be desired. I haven’t been there in a long time, so I’m sure it has changed. If you’re in the area, check them out. They’re like Starbucks if Starbucks still cared about their products and the environments in which they’re served.

I will fault Beans and Brews for one thing though. I told them about the disastrous experience I had at their Ogden location. They told me to reach out to the owner of that franchise. I did. The owner’s response amounted to a lot of hand wringing and very little in terms of efforts to rectify the situation. I went back to corporate and they said there was nothing they could do. I was appalled at their complete disinterest in standing behind their product or holding their franchise owner accountable. In this instance, I thought they were no better than Starbucks.

I also didn’t even have a chance to review their brew at home beans. I wanted to and they said I would have the opportunity. After I put up a stink about the experience I had just had, everything on which we had agreed seemed to go out the window. How am I supposed to write a comprehensive, fair review when all I’m getting is an incomplete picture that does not reflect the thing about which I’m writing in a favorable light?

The review I ended up writing went out of its way to see Beans and Brews in a favorable light. I do not regret writing the review this way because that’s how I felt at the time; however, my thoughts on them have changed and, in reality, this is the review I should have written in the first place. I think that, deep down, Beans and Brews is the coffee chain I described above. A lot of people dropped the ball, including myself.

Beans and Brews, if you’re reading this, let’s do it again…except let’s do it right this time. I want to see the side of organization that made me fall in love with it. I don’t want my last memory of your company to be the bad taste your unfortunate disinterest and one of your drinks left in my mouth.

Leave a Reply

