I’m on Instagram/Breathing Fire About Social Media

Link to my Instagram page

I finally made my foray into the world of Instagram. This decision came after I realized I had so many pictures from this project that I didn’t know what to do with. I don’t like posting images in my articles because I feel like they divert the focus from the words to the visual elements. I am not oblivious to the value of images in writing; however, I look to the books of old and notice that they don’t have pictures. They just have words and are able to stand on their own without needing anything to prop them up.
This blog is not a platform for visuals. I’ve thought about starting up a Tumbr version of this blog that shares more images and promotes this blog. I don’t know if I will go forward with that, but since WordPress allows you to automatically share posts on Tumblr, it seems like a no brainer. Tumblr is an outlet that doesn’t have a self-explanatory purpose. I do know that I should make my way to Facebook. There’s an old page for the old version of this blog. It’s not updated, so I’ll dust it off and start promoting it better.

For as much as people talk about social media and what it brings to the table, you would think there would be a mechanism that combines the best of each service into one easy to use interface. Unfortunately, no such thing exists.

Creators who use social media to promote their art have to develop a patchwork system to achieve their purposes. Some services combine a few social media platforms, but not all of them.

It also doesn’t help that every social media space has regulations on top of regulations, making it impossible for their users to do anything without being lumped into the same category as swindlers and scammers.

Social media needs to be a freer platform. The companies that run these services should devote some of their untold millions and billions of dollars to developing practical moderating policies and technologies. Instead of slamming users who just want to grow their audience, they could have a staff of people analyzing each supposed infraction to determine if any action needs to be taken.

The powers that be at these services claim that their measures are necessary for protecting privacy. The truth is that doing things practically would cost them money they have but are not willing to spend.

Leave a Reply

