Writing Is Whatever You Want It To Be

Whenever I write about something, I often get disgusted and have to start all over again. I feel like each new page is an opportunity to do something great. If one page runs its course, logically I will move on to the next one. I try to keep everything within the bounds of a particular topic. Sometimes I’m successful in this pursuit while other times I go off on tangents. What’s wrong with that?

In every writing class, you’re told to write how you talk. Yet, people who write professionally are expected to sound the same. Editors who may or may not know what they’re talking about lump all the writers they supervise into one glob. This glob consist of all the misguided tidbits that go into their definition of “good writing.” Nobody can define art.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to stop reading articles on the internet because they started to bleed together. What’s the point of having different writers if all the articles you publish sound the same? You might as well have one writer write everything for you. It’s silly to think that a wide group of creative people will think the same way. You have to give them breathing room to do what they do best.

Whatever happened to cutting out the fluff and leaving the quality material. A sentence should not stand unless it contributes something to the topic and is written in a strong, forceful manner. A weakly worded sentence is not worth the time it took the writer to write it or the reader to read it. Writers are put in a position where their dignity is for sale. They have to say “I’m an instrument for you to use as you see fit. The only point of view I will have is yours.” No wonder they have no dignity. I have fallen victim to this phenomenon myself.

If content really is king, creators should be given the key. I’m not saying that writers are better than those who operate within visual mediums. Anyone who’s creative fits into the category of being a creator. It’s a shame that the people who don’t create undermine the ability of those who do. Something is wrong here. I don’t just blame the audience. Everyone involved needs to take a long look at themselves and became the engine of change that’s so desperately needed.

Leave a Reply

