Mobile or Bust

I’ve thought a lot about making a full transition from relying on my laptop to using mobile devices like my phone and iPad on a regular basis. I think the biggest catalyst for my desire to make this change came because my laptop recently took a turn for the worse. It started to crash over and over.

I worried that I would lose all my data. I have had this worry so many times before. I’m tired of having to live and die by a hard drive. I want to be able to have data storage that’s impervious to all things. What is data anyway? I’ve written hundreds of things and hoarded thousands of other files. I access one percent of them. The rest collect dust.

But I digress. I find myself using my phone more and more for my writing endeavors. I like it more because it allows me to focus on a single task. The older I get, the more I realize I’m not a one track minded person. I tend to veer off in any number of directions…sometimes never returning to the point from which I started.

I’ve also gotten into something I’ve never thought I would be interested in: dictation. I tried to put an article together using nothing but my voice and it worked perfectly. I hate the idea of having to buy an external microphone for my computer. I tried some in the past and they were awful. The only good ones were so expensive that it was not worth it. That’s why I do it on my phone.

Looking at this article, it kind of seems like I’m late to the mobile party. This is true. I didn’t get my first cell phone until I was 18. Granted, this was back in a time when cell phones weren’t as great as they are today. At the same time, I should’ve had one sooner than when I did, but there was no job or social life to justify it at the time. My experience with computers has more than made up for my inexperience with mobile devices.

Lately my phone seems to be acting up, so I don’t know how long this transition will last. I’m hoping my phone behaves long enough for me to get a few posts done. With modern technology being how it is, I’m not holding my breath.

Leave a Reply

